Google+ Beathearts: Benny Tones - Chrysalis


Benny Tones - Chrysalis

Benny Tones is a Wellington-based producer/DJ/audio engineer and the official sound tech for Electric Wire Hustle. The group dropped their self-titled LP in 2009 which featured some nice names, like Dudley Perkins, Georgia Anne Muldrow and Stacy Epps. The group consists of David ‘TaayNinh’ Wright, Myele Manzanza, Mara TK and Benny Tones. It's a future soul sound that has the spirit of Marvin Gaye and Funkadelic with the more modern feel of J Dilla, PPP and SA-RA.

His solo album 'Chrysalis' was recently released on Evert Waking Hour. This is really a stunning piece of music! Deep, ambient, soulful blend of hip hop and funk, taking the soul of Electric Wire Hustle with some of NZ's finest vocalists and musicians. It features a whole bunch of guests, including Mara TK and Beathearts favorite Joe Dukie from Fat Freddy’s Drop, another great New Zeeland group.

On 'Chrysalis', Benny Tones shows off his impressive songwriting craft alongside his silky production skills. Thick drums and percussion layered with synth lines, hints of Fender Rhodes and nylonstringed guitars that will have your neck snapping!

1. Aero:Soul feat. Mara TK
2. On My Way feat. Mara TK
3. Smokey Haze Pt.1
4. Home feat. Joe Dukie
5. Apollo
6. Odyssey feat. LP
7. Fountain Of Youth feat. Shihan The Poet
8. Little City
9. Smokey Haze Pt.2
10. Nevermind feat. Mara TK
11. The Centre feat. Adi Dick
12. Fire Fly feat. Mara TK
13. Chrysalis feat. Sacha Vee (+Hidden Track)

Benny Tones – Nevermind feat. Mara TK

Benny Tones - Home feat. Joe Dukie

Benny Tones - Fountain of Youth feat. Shihan The Poet

0 reactions: